Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: From a Hayabusa to an RSV4? Requesting advice/opinion

  1. #1
    Baby Twin Chaserz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    14

    From a Hayabusa to an RSV4? Requesting advice/opinion

    I was doing a 2012 street bike tech check and stumbled across the RSV4R. I have always had a special place in my heart for v4 engines ever since the 1980s Honda V65s. And now a sexy sport bike from Aprilia returns with one. Needless to say I am VERY tempted. But about me: I am NOT a track rider. I like bike sex appeal and acceleration style power at the low and mid end. As like many Americans, I sometimes go up to 160 or more although not very often. So I have been trying to do as much thorough research as I can and I'd like to bounce off some conclusions I've gathered from various reviews and run it past on you owners if I may.


    1. The RSV4R is first and foremost a track bike in that any other "lesser" use is brutal and almost a waste of its greatest assets?
    2. Tied to #1 The RSV4 runs so incessantly hot when not moving that it's almost painful - except in leathers.
    3. It's best power is in the high end, whereas the low and mid is comparatively "slower" than its 1 liter competition.
    4. It's riding position, seat, and your wrists become very uncomfortable so longer rides would be "brutal" again? (I'm slim built 5' 11" 3/4)
    5. It swallows gasoline faster than Barney does beer at Moe's tavern.

    I presently own a 2011 Hayabusa. Although a respectable bike in its own right I find it to be a bit large in girth and heavy for me so I feel a bit inhibited by it on casual canyon runs in northern Utah. So a liter bike is on my radar.

    Any insight would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for your time.
    Last edited by Chaserz; January 8th, 2012 at 10:03 AM.

  2. #2
    One Liter Duc Eater SteveR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    West Sussex
    Posts
    901
    The RSV 4 is a beautiful machine, but I cant help think buying with no kneedowns in mind seems like a waste of the bike and your money. Why not just get a GSXR1000? I rode an 2010 model and was very impressed, does eveything well, and you get a fair bit of change on an RSV4.

    Else save even more, get an RSV and spend the saving on discoverying trackdays

  3. #3
    One Liter Duc Eater Carbon Kid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    646
    Gotta try one out matey.. I say go for it
    1- I enjoy mine for fast road, yes its focussed but great fun
    2-yes it runs hot..its a race bike for the road, ie, its supposed to be moving (fast) lol. You could always mod it for the fans to kick in sooner, but as they com ein at 104 I thuink, it only takes a moment for the engine to cool down once you start moving again.
    3-nice spread of power everywhere, if you want more low end just swap cogs..I left mine standard
    4-im 5ft 11, 11.5 stone and its a focussed positon but great , no probs over two 1500 mile Euro trips. Its more comfortable than it looks, I even run mine with rearsets set high up.
    5, If yer runnning it for fast road it can eat a tank at 75miles, (28 mpg) but who cares??!!!..normally about 100 if you are doing fast routes with not many changes.
    6-you gotta try one..its soooo different to your BUsa and brilliant fun, the motor is completely mental and the chasis is awesome.
    great deals to be had for the non aprc models at the mo.
    cheers ck

  4. #4
    Baby Twin BobC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    21
    Chaserz, I went from a ZZR1400 (ZX-14) via a Fireblade to the RSV4 and I can honestly say that it's not only a real blast to ride but it looks fabulous too. You will feel a lot more special on the Aprilia than on the ubiquitous Hayabusa (which I also owned back in 2003) even if you don't get your knee down.

    Mine's a 2010 Factory with an Akrapovic for a bit of weight reduction and that wonderful sound, plus ASV adjustable levers for comfort. It doesn't need anything else because it's got it all.

    They are all good bikes, Hayabusa and Aprilia, my advice would be to get yourself a test ride.
    Last edited by BobC; January 10th, 2012 at 03:27 AM.

  5. #5
    Baby Twin Chaserz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    14
    Bob, I went from a BMW K1200S to a '09 ZX14 to a '10 Busa. All three "felt" a little large to me. I was also eyeing the Blade. So from a contrast of the '14 how do you feel the RSV4's power delivery and acceleration compares?

    the RSV4's dyno charts shows most its power in like the 9K and above end and so weak on low and mid.

    What do you think?

  6. #6
    Baby Twin Chaserz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    14
    And what did you think of the Fireblade? Another poster on the board said he found it boring and too predictable in its power delivery.

  7. #7
    Baby Twin BobC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    21
    Comparing the power of the RSV4 to the 14? They're not really the same kind of bike as you know. The 14 has more torque and a huge top-end rush which Kawasaki's are known for, while the RSV4 feels like a twin at low rpm and not particularly quick, then it really bites as the revs rise, it's much a more focused bike built to win WSB. You don't get onto full throttle on either bike very much on public roads. They are both very fast bikes and the thing you will notice most, apart from the obvious size difference, is the very light handling and superb suspension on the Aprilia. The ZX-14 is a lumbering beast in comparison and needs more input to get it to turn. My 14 was not stock, I used it for LSR competitions. I had a TiForce and a Brock's exhaust system for it, secondary butterflies removed, a Power Commander with custom maps, a Speedo Healer, it was lowered and strapped and geared up for LSR. It went 205.4mph in a standing mile-and-a-quarter and also did a 9.84 second standing quarter on the high gearing. I bought the RSV4 purely for road riding.

    If I had to sum performance up in a few words I say the Kawasaki is faster but the Aprilia handles better.

    As for the Fireblade, mine was a 2009 model with the C-ABS, I don't know that a predictable power delivery is a bad thing. I loved my Fireblade, it certainly wasn't boring, it was comfortable, fast and did everything very well, a bit like the Aprilia but without the Ohlins and Brembo.
    Last edited by BobC; January 10th, 2012 at 05:40 AM.

  8. #8
    One Liter Duc Eater Carbon Kid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    646
    I tried the 2010 blade...and bought the v4, much more exciting to ride
    ck

  9. #9
    Baby Twin Chaserz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    14
    You say the RSV4 is more like a twin? Twins as far as I know are known for substancially low end power and torque compared to inline 4s. But from what I have read and seen from the dyno charts the RSV4 seems to have most its power on top.

    I watched a video review on the RSV4 from the UK and its quite a good review, he concludes at the end that the RSV4 is for its purpose an incredible bike but for anything else, like daily driver etc "it's brutal".

    What do you think Bob?

  10. #10
    Baby Twin Chaserz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    14
    Guys I really appreciate your input. That Aprilia is so sexy. And I love, in general, V4s. But I'm not a track or even race rider. I don't want to get something I would regret.
    Last edited by Chaserz; January 10th, 2012 at 06:49 AM.

  11. #11
    Baby Twin Chaserz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    14
    How about low speed acceleration? Do you think the RSV4 R would make me feel wanting compared to the 14 and the Busa?

  12. #12
    Baby Twin Chaserz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by BobC View Post
    If I had to sum performance up in a few words I say the Kawasaki is faster but the Aprilia handles better.
    The 1 liter bikes run around 430-450 wet. Thats 100-120 lbs less in weight compared to the Busa and 14. Do any one the one litres have the same lower end acceleration as the hyperbikes? I dont need to hold steady comfortably at 186.

  13. #13
    Baby Twin BobC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    21
    Quote Originally Posted by Chaserz View Post
    You say the RSV4 is more like a twin? Twins as far as I know are known for substancially low end power and torque compared to inline 4s. But from what I have read and seen from the dyno charts the RSV4 seems to have most its power on top.

    I watched a video review on the RSV4 from the UK and its quite a good review, he concludes at the end that the RSV4 is for its purpose an incredible bike but for anything else, like daily driver etc "it's brutal".

    What do you think Bob?
    When I said more like a twin I meant it sounds and feels like one, especially if you're used to in-line fours. No litre sports bike will have the low down torque of a hyperbike but it's a trade-off because they weigh a lot less. You really need to ride as many as you can before you buy. The Aprilia especially will feel tiny if you've just got off a Hayabusa so a five minute ride will not do, you need it for half a day.

    As for speed and acceleration the litre bike will hold it's own in most straight line situations but you'll need to rev it more, around the bends it will be ahead.
    Last edited by BobC; January 10th, 2012 at 11:39 PM.

  14. #14
    Baby Twin Chaserz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by BobC View Post
    When I said more like a twin I meant it sounds and feels like one, especially if you're used to in-line fours. No litre sports bike will have the low down torque of a hyperbike but it's a trade-off because they weigh a lot less. You really need to ride as many as you can before you buy. The Aprilia especially will feel tiny if you've just got off a Hayabusa so a five minute ride will not do, you need it for half a day.

    As for speed and acceleration the litre bike will hold it's own in most straight line situations but you'll need to rev it more, around the bends it will be ahead.
    Thank you Bob.

  15. #15
    Baby Twin Chaserz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    14
    Well a dealer got 4 and my name and a deposit is on a black 2012 APRC. I will be a new RSV4 owner soon. Very excited!

Similar Discussions

  1. Opinion poll.
    By DirtyDogg in forum Aprilia RSVR
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: January 29th, 2010, 09:09 AM
  2. Opinion of fzr 600?
    By twintorque in forum Motorcycle Talk
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: January 1st, 2010, 11:31 PM
  3. $12,000 Suzuki Hayabusa outperforms $1.7 million Bugatti Veyron
    By Motorcycle News in forum Motorcycle Talk
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: August 1st, 2008, 11:20 AM
  4. 2008 GSX-1300R Hayabusa Recall
    By Motorcycle News in forum Motorcycle Talk
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: June 27th, 2008, 12:42 AM

Search tags for this page

Click on a term to search for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •