Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Your thoughts and opinions

  1. #1
    Evil Twin stefano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Hastings, East Sussex
    Posts
    398

  2. #2
    Superbike Twin colinpp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Cheltenham, UK
    Posts
    147
    Mate

    This topic was posted several days ago. The general concensus was that the rider was a complete . The same could also be said of the unmarked police rider who rode just as recklessly keeping up with him..... as a former class one driver myself I feel qualified to state that there is no way that the pursuit (and that's what is was) should have been allowed to continue. The Police already knew the identity of the rider and they had more than enough video evidence to hang him out to dry in the first couple of miles.

  3. #3
    amb67
    Guest
    That guy must be crazy doing those kind of speeds on the A21, does he not realise how many bikers are killed on that road every year?

    You don't have to be doing those kind of speeds to have fun, if you do then why not book a track day.

  4. #4
    Superbike Twin MonkeyDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Helensburgh
    Posts
    168
    having been banned from driving three times, i feel i speak with a little bit of experience. in the past I have been guilty of driving recklessly. This guy is a fool, even when i was considerably younger i only sped in areas where i thought the risks of causing injury and getting caught were minimal.
    I love to ride fast, i love to push myself and my bike, but, when i hit a 30.... I DO 30...
    if we ride in a way that draws so much attention to us that the general public bother to complain, then we are asking for trouble.
    just my opinion

  5. #5
    One Liter Duc Eater sergi75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    SW LONDON
    Posts
    616
    No question that the guy was riding recklessly but also the police could have easily stopped him much earlier and avoid further danger for the road users. It seems clear to me that the police wanted to fuck him as much as possible to send a serious warning to the bike community.

  6. #6
    A303
    Guest
    Hi Stef.
    Not wanting to hijack your thread but we've had a good old chat about this in this thread: Forward facing cameras (open forum).
    I reckon Sussex were after some footage to sell to Police, Camera, Action and I'll bet a pint with anyone that this turns up on there within the next couple of years.

  7. #7
    One Liter Duc Eater Flick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    675
    Quote Originally Posted by amb67 View Post
    That guy must be crazy doing those kind of speeds on the A21, does he not realise how many bikers are killed on that road every year?

    You don't have to be doing those kind of speeds to have fun, if you do then why not book a track day.
    Do you really have fun going the speed you go dude... ?

  8. #8
    amb67
    Guest
    Slow and steady Flick, slow and steady.

    I have a wife and four kids to think about when I'm riding.

    In answer to your question, yes I do have fun!

  9. #9
    AMA Pit Boss
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Shoeburyness, Essex
    Posts
    2,338
    I think the guy is a complete cock, but the law is a joke. There is no consistancy between police forces let alone police officers, they do themselves no favours what so ever, and yet the moan and whinge that they get no support or respect from joe public (and yes my best mate is a copper !).
    The ules of the road apply to everyone without exception all I ask is for is fair and decent treatment....something we dont get !!.
    I commute to work 50 miles a day, sometimes by bike mostly by car. The roads I use are open B roads and very little traffic, good visibilty no schools etc etc and yes I do push it it a bit. I also go scratching on Sunday mornings with a bunch of folk and we really do push the limit when the conditions are right.
    In 20 years of living in this country I have only ever accrued 3 points on my license....if you want to ride faster than the law allows and have fun while doing it and enjoy an element of saftey.....do it on the TRACK !!, and dont fuggin moan when you caught, it really is that simple :-)

    //rant off

  10. #10
    Evil Twin stefano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Hastings, East Sussex
    Posts
    398
    For the record, I was once done on the very same road, albeit on the dual carriageway part of it. It was pretty much the same time, on a similarly tempting piece of machinery, and for some pure magic, all the cars in front of me kept moving out of the way, even BMW's and JAG's were moving away from the overtaking lane, so, there I was, head down, going for it for a good 5 minutes, before I realized the Police with flashing blues was behind me, and like a good citizen I moved over to allowed them to get to their emergency, only to realize that I was their target. So they pulled me over, got a severe bo**o**ing, a FNP, and in the words of the copper, what saved me from being pulled in front of the magistrates was the fact that I did not do any underataking. So the speed only, and fortunately, earned me 3 points.
    3 days later, this time at 1 am, southbound on the NSL A21, I am being tailgated by a car, and the faster I go, the faster they go, and after a good 10 miles they decided to turn on their blue lights. I duly pulled over, but was none too happy with the way the idiot was so close behind me. It took an amazing amount of self control not to fly into a rage about the dangers he could have put me in, especially after he told me that my speed was excessive, considering I had a car so close behind me.

Similar Discussions

  1. L.E.D's are fitted....Opinions please!!!
    By andirsv in forum Aprilia RSVR
    Replies: 68
    Last Post: January 22nd, 2009, 04:08 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •